Life

The soul purpose.

Sometimes, life is so entirely satisfying that you feel like you are filled to the brim, that you’re exploding with this feeling of rightness in the world. That is me right now. This weekend I did some very necessary soul cleaning, a term I just coined about 3 minutes ago (I’m not entirely pleased with it- currently taking suggestions for a better one). What I mean is taking a couple days to do what makes your soul happy. All weekend I had that thought in the back of my mind- just this bizarre little idea that I was giving my soul a much little cleansing. Soul searching is exhausting. Been there, done that (side note: I will never be done with that). But I am here to tell you that soul cleaning is filtering out the bad and nurturing the parts of you that make you happy, that may need a little extra lovin’. And it makes you feel good.

As I was thinking this, I was wondering to myself what the actual definition of a soul is. Obviously we’ve all heard the word before and have a general idea but in case you were wondering what the definition is I am here to tell you that the Merriam-Webster Dictionary:

soul (n.) the spiritual part of a person that is believed to give life to the body and in many religions is believed to live forever; the ability of a person to feel kindness and sympathy for others, to appreciate beauty and art, etc.; the spiritual principle embodied in human beings, all rational and spiritual beings, or the universe; a person’s total self

Total self! I am in favor of doing anything that pleases my total self. I am in favor of doing anything that gives life to this body. I am in favor of doing anything that strengthens my ability to feel kindness and sympathy for others. Shouldn’t we all be doing this?

You see, it’s easy for life to wear you down. To muddle that essence inside of you. Intern morale was low last week and the exhaustion that comes with this internship makes me wonder almost every day whether it is worth it. It’s easy to forget about the little things that make you so happy and fall into the tempting rut of negativity. But this weekend- this weekend had me feeling that all was well. I woke up to a text from my boyfriend Sunday morning that was quite unlike him that basically said, “have a great day- all is right in the world!” But it was. And it just so happened that he knew it too.

I spent this weekend doing things that put a smile on my face. I spontaneously drove to Portland with a friend on Friday night to go to a bluegrass festival. I got locked out a parking garage at 1:30am and sat on a sidewalk laughing with Molly at the predicament that we were in. I went for a run Saturday and not the run-because-you-have-to run but the kind of runs where you can feel the fresh air coursing through you and you never want to stop. I went to a wine tasting with my roommate and another friend and drank good wine, ate good cheese and caught up. On the way home from the market (a different one than usual) that night, I drove just to drive and I learned that there is something distinctly satisfying about not knowing your way and finding your way home with the use of technology. I spent my Sunday morning with an imaginative and spirited 4-year-old (who would be mad if she could read this- *4 and three quarters*). And then I went to see Bernie Sanders speak at a rally which was really, really cool and had me fangirling hard.

So yeah, my weekend was pretty awesome.

And I didn’t do a lot of work, I admit. I could have been more productive. But this morning, I had more energy than ever. I caught up and more with the work I didn’t do over the weekend and was feeling on top of the world. I just had an extra pep in my step despite the fact that it’s Monday AND I was wearing pants. Which just proves that this time to ourself is important. It’s important to do things that make you happy. To nourish that essence inside of you. To appreciate the beauty of the world. To take care of your total self. And I encourage you all to do the same.

Treat yoself!
Live in the sunshine friends!
Leave a Reply

