Life

From farm to fork to health.

Today was the first day of my internship. Hooray, yippee, wahoo and any other exclamatory, silly word you can think of!! It’s been a LONG time coming. I’m assuming most of you don’t know the process that us dietetic majors take but basically here’s the low down: in order for dietetic majors to become a Registered Dietitian, we need to complete an (at least) 10 month internship. Now in case you’re thinking internships are just so easy to get, you would be very wrong. There are around 300 accredited dietetic internships nationwide. The national acceptance rate is 50%, but in New England, for the most part, it’s a lot lower. This internship is 40 hours (at least) a week without outside work and it is unpaid. In fact, we pay for it. Yep, you read that right- I pay $13,000 to work full-time. To the people thinking “but Meghan, that’s absurd! How does anyone ever afford that?” – to you I say, welcome to my dietetic intern life.

Anyway, clearly this thing is a pretty big deal. Luckily, I live with my fellow URI grad who also got placed at this internship which is EXTREMELY rare. Her name is Ashley and she’s pretty great. She loves coffee as much as I do. So much, in fact, that we talked for fifteen minutes yesterday about exactly how much coffee we needed to make today in order to get through the day. We love it so much that we took a forty-five minute detour yesterday to go buy thermoses that would keep our afternoon iced coffees cold until it was time to drink them. We realized this was necessary yesterday afternoon when we were out running errands and both abruptly stopped talking to each other because our morning coffees had worn off. We decided we wouldn’t make friends unless we have an afternoon coffee and with an internship class of ten, we’re kinda trying to make a good impression here. We even made coffee iced cubes to put in them so we wouldn’t have to drink weak coffee.

So imagine our horror last night when we realized that my beloved 12-cup coffee maker abruptly stopped working. That’s right, it stopped working completely. It just made angry, disgruntled noises. Unfortunately, we realized this much too late- far too late to go out and buy another. I panicked. This was a surely a bad omen. The coffee maker breaking before the first night of our first day at our full-time, 9-5 job (technically, internship but it’s a job)? A bad sign. It’s got to mean bad things ahead. In case you can’t tell, I’m a fairly superstitious person. Or in the words of Michael Scott (for all you The Office fans), I’m not superstitious but I am a little stitious. And in case you’re thinking that it’s absolutely ABSURD to think about coffee this much- you would be correct but at least Ashley is in it with me.

RIP sad coffee maker.
RIP sad coffee maker.

So today was the first day and we were, understandably nervous. Our first day of real life, real clothes-wearing adultness (/still-not-quite-adultness). And I am excited to say that it was quite lovely! It was a little boring at times (in case anyone has any questions about bloodbourne pathogens, I am your girl.) There isn’t much to report, there was a lot of paperwork involved but so far, our little intern group seems to jive really well which is pretty awesome. And the director has just done a study about whether New England will be able to produce half its own food by 2060 and really focuses on the integration of agriculture and politics in this whole issue and if you know me, you know that is EXACTLY the kind of thing I’m into. So that was good too. (A little FYI, the phrase “from farm to fork to health” was mentioned a lot in our big old binder of information hence the title of this post). Overall, it was a pretty solid day and I’m glad to have the first one behind me. And I’m also glad to have this glass of wine next to me because it was quite exhausting being a real human.

IMG_2265
Officially official.

Also I don’t want to be annoying by posting on Facebook every time I have a new post on here so for anyone (read: my parents) who want to be emailed every time I post, there’s a follow me tab on the top of this page you can click. By following me, it just means that you’ll enter an email and get an alert each time I post. And if you do, welcome to my adventure!

2 thoughts on “From farm to fork to health.

  1. LOL my coffee machine broke yesterday too! Greg ran out and bought a new one – after I made a quick DD run.

    And where’s that follow key? Don’t see it (but I’m challenged).

    Like

    1. Lol too funny!! We ran out to get another last night too :) and I believe it should be on the top left if you scroll all the way up! But my browser looks different than yours so I’m not 100% sure

      Like

Leave a Reply

